Hey honey, the kids are watching…


Ok, get your head out of the gutter and back to the blog post 😉 I have to constantly remind myself and my hubby that the boys (5-year-old twins , for those just visiting) are always watching. This includes our language, what we eat, how we drive, what we wear, what we listen to on the radio. Take for example, my latest car trip to the gym this morning. We were running late (read as, I was running late) and I hear from the back seat, “Come on cars we are going to be late for mommy’s class, move it!” Oops! That sure sounded like something I would say, but it came out of a 5-year-old mouth. Note to self, use inside driver’s voice from now on. Check.

But also heard on a recent conversation between the boys when discussing what we should have for breakfast this weekend. We were running errands as a family and my Husband and I decided Panera would be a safer bet for breakfast than McD’s and little B piped up that he wanted McD’s  pancakes. Little R, my pancake lover, chimed in and tells his brother “they are good but they are not the healthy choice.” Someone has been listening to mommy and daddy lately. Huh. I guess the biggest lesson I have learned so far in my 5 1/2 years with my boys is that if you practice what you preach they will pay attention and follow suit, eventually.

So I am continuing to stock our fridge with fresh produce and placing it on their plates at each meal. If it is on their plate it will be on mine as well as my husband’s. We will challenge ourselves to try new foods that are in season as well. We are looking forward to our up coming vacation in August and have many outdoor activities planed for that time. As for my own personal goals, I have lost 2 lbs this week and that puts me 3 lbs away from my goal weight! In the last 2 weeks I have shed about 5-6 lbs and I am not sure why but it is falling off and I feel wonderful! I am struggling with a training plan for my MS mud Run In September. It is coming very fast and I am now at a loss as to where to even start. A refresher, it is a 10 race through a military-style obstacle course made of mud. Thoughts? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katrina - @craftsbykatie
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 10:00:55

    Congratulations on being so close to your goal! Our kiddos really do listen. I love hearing mine discuss what would be a healthy choice. I don’t have any advice for a mud run, but you might talk to Angela (ninemoremonths). I know that she’s done at least one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

