Motivation Monday


After a hiatus, I am back! I found my exercise mojo and I have been up and at it. As of June 1st I started the Lazyman Triathlon through my local YMCA. What is the Lazyman Tri you ask? I have 6 weeks to complete what most Ironman athletes complete in a day. I will be swimming 2.5 miles (ok rowing because I cannot enter the pool with my latest injury, a burn on my thumb), cycling 112 miles, and running 26.2 miles. A very attainable goal for me since I did this same event last year. This year my challenge is to complete it sooner. I have 30 miles on the bike and over 8 mile running and we just completed week 1. I should check into Omron Healthcare’s pedometer to see how many steps are in a mile so I can track this while at work.

My other motivation is from a friend of mine. I had encouraged her last fall to join the YMCA and work out with me. Well, while I have been slacking she has turned up the pace and can you say jealous! The girl has some guns! Mama Guns that make mine look like tiny water pistols. Don’t even get me started on her legs! So I have some catching up to do and I WILL CATCH UP! So it begins….

Now if I could only find the nutritional balance. I know what I SHOULD eat but my problem still is getting the two almost 6 year olds on board with the program. I would love it if I could put out some garlic basil humus and celery/carrot sticks as a snack. I could but I would be the only one eating them. It’s a shame because they are really missing out on such a yummy snack. So what I need is some advice in the lunch area. I have been very good at tracking and planning my dinners this past week. I want to expand that to lunches. I have always been bad at lunch planning (my Achilles heel if you will, when it comes to nutrition) and I usually end up making two different meals, one for me and one for the boys. Cue Alysa Bajenaru, RD (@InspiredRD) who is the guest on Mamavation TV tonight. What timing! Hoping for some recipe inspiration and a good healthy dose of “here eat this”.

So for those reading this, I beg you to help me brainstorm and share some lunch ideas for me and the kidlets (they are very opinionated about food).

 

**This post is sponsored by Omron Healthcare and I’m writing this to be entered into a Omron Go Smart Pedometer giveaway hosted by Mamavation .

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom)
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 06:41:21

    Good for you! Grab onto the mojo and run with it… literally!

    Yes, I used to only meal plan for dinners, but Mamavation taught me to plan every bite ahead of time. It is easier to think through smart balanced days and mindlessly stick to a plan. I make bad (fast) choices without it.

    Have a great week!

    Reply

  2. Grace
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 06:56:39

    Welcome Back! I am so happy for you that you are on the right track.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

