Sunday, Sunday, Sunday


Anxiously waiting for my 1st race day to come. I will be participating in the 5K Race for the Cure at the Mall of America in Bloomington, MN this Sunday! I choose this to be my first race because it is for charity and it raises awareness about breast cancer AND my husband will be running his 1st 5K along side me! I am in the process of picking out my race attire. I will be wearing as much pink as possible that day, I am also trying to plan my husband’s pink flair as well.

My nerves are high right now. I am not were I would like to be prior to this race. I have no doubt that I will finish since I can run 5K, but I have not been getting to the gym as much as I normally do, April was a very busy month. So to prepare I am eating as healthy as I can this week without changing my diet too much. I plan on making grilled chicken and asparagus with a side salad for dinner. Our race starts at 7:30 so for breakfast, I will be eating light. Nothing heavy, just a light meal as normal. I am focusing on my water intake all week long just to stay hydrated. So far it doesn’t look like a warm morning, so heat exhaustion won’t be an issue.

I need to wrap my head around the fact that this will be me heading out for a run as normal. I need to ignore the crowd and just take in the crisp morning air. I am glad Brian, my husband, will be there to chat with and help push me along, and vise versa. This is bound to be a fun run and an emotional day. As a volunteer last year, the emotions were running wild. As a runner, I’m sure it will be no different.

Have a great week everyone! I will have race details for you next week!!

Marie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorrie
    May 04, 2011 @ 06:37:29

    good luck with your 5k race you are going to do awesome, make sure to let us know your results. I’m doing a 5k walk on saturday

    Reply

  2. kia
    May 04, 2011 @ 11:18:13

    This is beautiful that you volunteered last year and are running this year. Heck yeah pink out of your mind. I like the hot pink shoe lace touch myself when I do any events for the cure. Have a great week leading into the race and have fun.

    Reply

  3. Greta
    May 05, 2011 @ 03:05:31

    Sounds like a great plan!! You’ve got everything very well thought out and even to the week before hydrating and eating well. I should try that sometime! Good luck!

    Reply

  4. lena B
    May 05, 2011 @ 03:08:49

    You’re so motivational. I want to believe my hubs will run with me when I do my 5K. I probably will be wearing reflecting vest and helmet, to be noticed if I fall down and get left behind. LOL
    Jokes aside, have an awesome week

    Reply

Leave a Reply

