Never Thought


It has been another long 7 day stretch of work. In that time I managed to make it for a run twice! It felt great to get out and run again. I got to try out my new Nike+ Sportband. The first day I wore it I didn’t get it synched right. This happened only because I was so excited to be running again that I didn’t do  the steps properly. Oops! On Saturday I had the pleasure of heading to the gym with my husband. At one point during our run I asked him “Did you ever in a million years think you would ever be running side by side with me?” His answer, “I never thought I would see the day”. It’s true. I swore off running when I was in high school. I hated running in gym class. But after reading inspiring stories from other bloggers and watching the Twin Cities Marathon as a spectator, I was ready to give it a try last fall. I have been hooked ever since. I still consider myself a beginning runner. I do not run for speed. I run just to run. My times vary, my speed varies, my distance varies depending on how I feel for the day. I am setting goals for myself and I have registered for a few “races” (again running for fun not time at this point). But after running with my husband on Saturday I think I have gained a new respect for running.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Virginia from That Bald Chick
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 04:01:11

    good for you, setting goals and running!

    Reply

  2. Kimberly @christlikemommy
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 06:41:38

    Isnt that an awesome feeling when you start doing something you never thought you would be able to do? When I first started running it felt so liberating, like I was freed!!

    Reply

  3. Carrie Symes
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 07:07:56

    Great job last week!! I was the same was as a kid, I hated to run and now I am really starting to love it! It’s crazy how things change as we get older. Have a great week!!

    Reply

  4. Grace
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 08:35:01

    I envy you. Hopefully some day I will like running too. I have always hated it, but have always admired those people who do it. You rock!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

