Time Management


Ever wonder where the last 24 hours went? Currently I am wondering where the last 168 hrs (or 7 days) went? I know where the next 7 days are going to be spent. I started a new job today. Last week was spent preparing for set job and scrambling to find childcare. Who wouldn’t want to watch these two active munchkins??

But the task has proven to be a struggle none the less. I currently have a friend of the family watching them but found out today that he has a job interview on Friday. Good for him, bad for me. So I am back to square one this week and no time to make calls. My schedule is as follows:

Monday: work 7:30-4 (allow 45 minutes to get home in traffic) so really 4:45. Make dinner, clean up, boys in bed by 7:30p.

Tuesday: work 7:30-4 (allow 45 minutes to get home in traffic) so really 4:45. Make dinner, clean up, boys in bed by 7:30p.

Wednesday: work 7:30-4 (allow 45 minutes to get home in traffic) so really 4:45. Make dinner, clean up, boys in bed by 7:30p.

Thursday: Get to the gym in the morning (because I will need it by then) home for lunch, work from 3p-11:30pm (home by Midnight, if I’m lucky)

Friday: Morning with the boys and my mom. Work from 3p-11:30pm (home by Midnight, if I’m lucky)

Saturday: Breakfast then at 11am  Madagascar Live on stage with the family (super excited!!) work from 3p-11:30pm (home by Midnight, if I’m lucky)

Sunday: Breakfast then Birthday party at 11-2 work from 3p-11:30pm (home by Midnight, if I’m lucky)

 

I am not sure how you working parents do it?! How do you fit in a workout? I am beat from getting up at 5am to get ready for work (ok it has been only one day of early morning wake up so far, but I am ready for bed by 8pm).

My plan right now is survival mode. Focus on eating healthy and getting in fitness when I can. I was really hoping to work it in over lunch but was told today that we eat at our desk because our lunches often get interrupted by have to give immunizations and mantoux (TB titers) on a walk in basis. Well, at least I get to eat on my day job, very rarely does that happen on my evening job in the ER.

So, if anyone has some suggestions I would love to hear them!

Have a great week! Good luck Mamavation Ladies!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie Symes
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:28:54

    WOW! You are going to be one busy lady this week! Try and take some time for yourself! You will need it! I know when I worked second it was hard for me to unwind and go straight to bed. Maybe you could do some relaxing with yoga at night(and get in some exercise).

    Reply

  2. smallworldbiggirl
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 21:11:57

    I work 12 hour days so I try and do spurts of exercise while I’m at work. I’m sure the security cameras have caught some unflattering footage, but oh well. 🙂 Try parking farther away from the entrance, taking stairs whenever possible. All the little things add up.
    I hope you have a great week and find some time for yourself to relax.
    Laura

    Reply

  3. Brian
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 19:40:45

    Everyone someone walks into your office or comes to your desk, stand up and great them. Try to remain standing while they are there. Not only is it a little exercise, but people will feel more comfortable and welcomed. It removes barriers and positions of power.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

