March Madness


It’s March Madness time! Nope I’m not talking Basketball, sorry not a fan. March Madness for me means I have 3 months to get ready for Summer! Three months until I break out the shorts, three months until it is, gulp, swimsuit season. Normally I am in a panic and I am stress eating. This year I say BRING IT!

This winter has been long. We have had snow on the ground in Minnesota since November and cold temps since October. March is the beginning of the end of winter for us. Yes, it is our second snowiest month but it doesn’t stick around as long, the sun is warmer, and the sun rises earlier and sets later.

I have felt my energy increase already. My exercise routine was more consistent. My meals were focused on fueling my body. I ate breakfast everyday and planned out snacks. Here is what I did this week:

Meals

Monday: Breakfast- Homemade muffins with flax seed and a yogurt. Lunch- Lean roast beef sandwich on wheat with pesto. Dinner: Homemade lasagna (had diced carrots, celery, tomatoes and made with parmesan cheese and low fat sour cream. 56oz water

Tuesday: Breakfast-Special K and a banana. Lunch- Peanut butter and jelly on a wheat bagel. Dinner- Pork roast with carrots, baby reds, diced tomatoes, and onions. Snacks- Bowl of fresh fruit (strawberries, banana, raspberries). 90 oz water

Wednesday: Breakfast- Banana and Luna bar (was in a hurry and running out the door). Lunch- Salad with chicken and low fat dressing and a Jenny O Turkey brat. Dinner- Steak Tacos. Snack-air popped popcorn.

Thursday: Breakfast- Scrambled egg whites. Lunch- Turkey burger no bun and cucumber slices. Dinner- left over pork roast, baby reds, and carrots.

Friday: breakfast was a bowl of Dry Special K (ran out of milk) Lunch- A burger and I felt nasty (lesson learned) Dinner- belly was still recovering from lunch so I had some plain wheat toast (I was at work)



Exercise

Monday: Ellen Barrett Yogini DVD 45minutes

Tuesday: Turbo Kick 60 minutes Core conditioning 15 minutes

Wednesday: Interval running with my Couch25K program. I was sore and thought interval training was a nice compromise. Ab/core workout with Medicine ball and then a series of planks. Weight training in the evening.

Thursday: Body Flow for 50 minutes (yoga/pilates mix).

Friday: Weights and core workouts at home

Saturday: Rest day

Sunday: Unexpected rest day. Had too much to do before going to work today.

 


5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Crazy Adventures in Parenting
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 02:14:01

    Ohhh, I want to try BodyFlow SO BAD!!! Can’t wait to move to a city where they offer it!!!

    Reply

  2. smallworldbiggirl
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 03:46:47

    I hear you on the snow front. It’s the beginning of the end and I couldn’t be happier! I can’t wait to run and exercise outside!
    Can you bottle your awesome attitude toward summer and send it to me? 🙂

    Reply

  3. @RunningRachel
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 04:00:57

    Stopping by to send you some love! You are amazing! So proud of you ! 😀

    Thanks for the kick in the pants last week! 🙂

    Reply

  4. lorrie
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 04:37:14

    awesome job with the walkng i feel ya about winter im in michigan and ive seen enough white stuf that i wanta scream i wanta get outsde and walk and not be wearing sweater anymore I WANT MY SPRING !

    good job on eating well and exercsing reguarly i need to get a regular schedule

    Reply

  5. Katrina
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 04:50:00

    I am so ready for the snow to be gone! I love winter but this year has been a royal pain the behind! I’ll raise a glass of water to Spring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

