Re-evaluating


It has been at least 2 weeks since my last post. Wow, if I was Catholic that would sound like a confession. As some may know my house was hit by several sicknesses, strep and some sort of nasty snot fest. I have not been able to P90X while ill, and I have made it to the gym only a handful of times (mostly because I didn’t want to spread the germs). This week is a new week for me and I am finally feeling better and ready to start my workouts again (how I missed them so).

But where do I start? Do I continue to do P90X? I would be back on week 5 if I did. I want to incorporate more running into my plan. I have found a few races to partake in starting in March with a 5K St. Patrick’s Day run with hubby (who by the way is starting to run during his lunch hour). I have been tossing around the idea of doing Grandma’s Marathon in June. A co-worker thinks she and I can train and be ready by then, me I think the half marathon looks more achievable at this time (or maybe I’ll stick with a 5K, doesn’t hurt to get a few more in). The Twin Cities Half Marathon is another run I want to accomplish this year.

Decisions, decisions. But I’m back to feeling healthy, my meals are planned once again and I will be hitting the ground running this week (yes, pun intended).

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Milo
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 03:03:46

    So sorry to hear about all the sickness, it seems like everyone is sick these days! Must have been all that tough winter weather :/ Glad to hear you’re picking up speed, you’re in the right frame of mind and not letting the tough times get the best of you. Make it your best week yet! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 04:07:59

    So many of us have been dealing with sickness – no fun!! Did you like P90x and the results you saw before you were sick? If so, then jump back in. I know a few others have talked about adding more running as well.

    Glad you’re better!! Hugs!

    Reply

  3. Leah @bookieboo
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 04:09:39

    My opinion. Go where your heart is in activity. We always want to do what we like so we will stick with it. At the end of the day, your goal is to find what you are passionate about, so you can enjoy it. When you find what you enjoy, then it becomes a lifestyle.

    I found love in kickboxing. It makes me feel powerful. It carries me though all the other things in my life. You may enjoy running or interval training like P90X more. But whatever it is, slow down and try to figure out what parts of the movement you enjoy.

    XXOO

    Reply

  4. Rachel @RachelSteffen
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 11:00:42

    Hugs! I have a running/p90x plan that ColoradoMom gave Stephanie (and she gave me) that I can share with you if you are interested. I have been so consumed with the snots (and his friend cough) that running and p90x have taken the back burner (same as you).

    You can do it… and do what you can (while taking care of YOU)

    HUGS!

    Reply

  5. kia
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 11:13:17

    Just get better right now. Be gentle on yourself. A lot of us have been sick. Post, be creative, especially when trying to figure out where your workout groove is once you get your mojo back.

    Reply

  6. Katrina
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 12:23:54

    Take care of yourself and get better. It sounds like you have lots of options open to you. Find your workout groove and jump right back in!

    Reply

  7. Jessica Fiumara
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 12:37:54

    I’m glad things are starting to get back to normal around your house. 🙂

    Good luck on the race planning! I’m trying to do a 5k in April (will be my first one), and looking to maybe do another in the fall.

    Reply

  8. lorrie
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 12:23:29

    good luck with your race that is awesome that your doing it ith your husband, thats a great motivation and support system there. keep doing great and welcome back to posting

    Reply

  9. Greta
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 03:55:31

    Sorry to hear you were sick. Seems like everyone has gotten sick this winter! No matter what you do, I’m sure you’ll rock it!! Struggling to get back into the groove too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

