P90X Challenge-Start of Week 2


We have finished week 1 of the P90X Challenge on Bookieboo.com and I love it! I love the challenge and how I can feel the muscles working. I am falling in love again with Yoga X, Ab Ripper X, Kenpo (like kick boxing), and Core Synergistics. My boys like to watch me do the workouts and they are so cute trying to join in. They cheer me on with the push ups and laugh while I grunt and “say funny words” during Ab Ripper X (so rightfully named, by the way). However, I am struggling with how to fit in going to the gym.  I may have to fit this in when we are working abs, chest and arms. That way I can get some run time in. Hmm, may have to ponder a little on that one. I have to kick up the amount of Protein as well. I have noticed I have been more sore and getting more post workout headaches. The first time I went through the P90X series I ended up injury the muscles in my neck and had to stop the program.  I partially blame my poor posture and chronic knots in my neck but also my nutrition. I continually have muscle tension issues in my neck to this day and I am working hard at controlling the pain. I have tried Salonpas and was surprised at how great they made me feel. The closest I can think of to compare them too is Icy hot without the strong smell and mess and it works better. It did relieve my aching shoulders and was comfortable to wear. I am so happy they will be our special guest on Mamavation TV this Monday. This time a around I will  be focusing on my technique and I am determined to keep a food journal and meal plan better starting this week. Confession: I did not get all my workouts in this past week do to sleep issues (see below) and I was the Personal Attendant for a friend’s Wedding on Saturday and she was in need of a lot of help. We went shopping for lingerie, final dress fitting, rehearsal, groom’s dinner, picking up the dress, decorating the reception hall, nail primping, hair primping, and so much more odds and ends. I loved helping my friend, she is the sweetest and I wanted her to have the Wedding of her dreams. Hopefully she will look back on that day and remember all the good things and less of the stress. The wedding was beautiful, she was beautiful and my legs and feet are still sore from wearing 3 inch heels, walking in the snow for pictures, and a long night of dancing. I may not of had my P90X workout but I had me some cardio on the dance floor!

Another struggle I have been dealing with this week is sleep, or the lack of. It all started with getting home from work at 3:15am on Wednesday morning then getting up at 7:30am to get the boys ready for preschool. I did manage to sneak in a 2 hour nap while they were at school (usually I work out during this time but was too exhausted). I planned on going to bed around 8pm that night after watching my friends 2 kids. Problem #1, she was late picking them up. Not a huge deal since it gave me an excuse to read a little. When it was finally time for bed I wasn’t sleepy until about 10:30pm. When I finally drifted asleep, I awoke with a start for some reason. That was around 11:30 and I couldn’t fall back to sleep until 1:30am. I’ve noticed that when I get this that when I get this tired, I really do not want to work out. It is probably better to force myself to do so and ride the wonderful post workout endorphins, but I fall back on old habits of “I just need to rest.” That is the attitude that got me into trouble after the boys were born and I started to gain weight. I was that tired everyday and things started to spiral down and I became depressed. I understand I need more sleep, getting it is my problem. When I go to bed I have tried relaxation exercises, yoga, but my mind just will not stop. I am hoping this will be better this week with the wedding being over and no other new stressors will be added to my life for awhile.

So, to recap after all my blabbering: GOALS

*  Get more sleep

*  Try and work in some gym time for running while doing P90X

*  Food journal and meal planning to keep track of protein intake

*  Drink more water

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel @RachelSteffen
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 09:46:54

    I think you are totally amazing! You did a great job and have a great game plan set for this coming week! I think I remember Tony saying that week 1 is where we figure it all out … week 2 is where we have to dig deep to bring it 🙂

    Lets dig deep this week. (Btw – I totally am running whereever and WHENEVER I can fit it in my schedule: p90x or not!!) This mama NEEDS to run 🙂

    Have a great week!!

    Reply

  2. Scarlett Black
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 10:41:00

    There must have been something going on in the atmosphere because my family couldn’t sleep either. THis also includes my 4 year old! CRAZY!

    I forgot you were doing p90x with us! I knew I was forgetting someone from my little “list” 🙂

    Hope that gets straightened out for you! Have a great week!

    Reply

  3. kia
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:10:51

    Great job with week one of P90X! I hope you are able to get your sleep in this week. You know you can work in running and P90X without having to do both in the same day. Have a great week finding your balance.

    Reply

  4. lena b
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:35:39

    You do need some rest. I can’t get to bed before midnight like ever and up bright and early – could always wish for more. Do the best you can. And the kids are so funny this way – I wish I could video record my 3 yo of working out with me. Good luck with P90X

    Reply

  5. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom)
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:17:35

    I am very impressed! I am in awe of all you P90x gals.

    I hope you can find some more sleep, I know I have had some issues with sleep over the past month and hope that more exercise will help me to crash in the evening at a better time.

    Have a great week and good luck with your second week of P90x.

    Reply

  6. Jenn of PersonalFitCoach.com
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:59:44

    Way to go on the P90X Challenge so far. It’s so nice to have such a great bunch of gals joining me. Great recommendation for Salonpas too. I’ll have to give them a try.

    Reply

  7. MommaYoung@thebabysteppers
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:50:03

    I would love to try the salonpas for my ankle (old softball
    injury) Everyone is talking about the p90x Im going to check it out
    after I visit everyones posts.

    Reply

  8. MrsFatass
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 00:21:14

    I totally get the last part of your post. Sleep can make me or break me, and it’s always been something I’ve struggled with. So, I feel your pain.

    Great work with P90X!

    Reply

  9. Shelley
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 02:14:58

    You did AMAZING this week! Sleep is one of my biggest challenges so I’m right there with you as having that as a goal. Good luck this week 🙂

    Reply

  10. Carrie@FamilyFitnessFood.com
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 07:07:17

    It’s always important for me to recognize what causes the downward spiral. That just makes it easier to stop the behavior before it gets out of hand. That “I’m so tired” can get out of hand really quickly. Great job to figure it out. With that little sleep, I don’t think I could function either. Have a great week, I can’t wait to hear more progress about your P90X workout. Thanks for visiting my blog, too.

    Reply

  11. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 08:33:11

    I hope the sleep issues are working themselves out. It’s no fun to run ragged AND have to chase after kidlets AND try to workout. Check with Rachel Steffen about how she’s fitting in running time while doing P90x too.

    Proud of your progress – you rock!

    Reply

  12. Casey
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 09:28:15

    I’m looking forward to reading about your p90x adventures! My husband has been talking about that program for a couple years now. I hadn’t heard of it before he brought it up. Now I seem to be seeing it and reading about it everywhere! Best wishes!

    I’ve never taken it, but I’ve heard that melatonin helps with some insomnia issues.

    Reply

  13. April @ Doin' The Working Mom Thing
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 00:16:01

    It sounds like you’re doing great. I think lack of sleep contributed greatly to my weight gain since my 16 month old was born. I’m still dealing with it because I work nights, but sleep definitely has to be a priority. I’m sure it will all work out in the end if you don’t give up. I admire you for doing P90X. Have a great week!

    Reply

  14. Angela
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 02:35:07

    It’s no fun trying to get your fitness goals met when you’re sleep deprived. Last week my kiddos kept waking up every hour or so during the night, it killed me! How can they sleep so little and then be up and ready to go at 7am? I hope you do well next week with your goals, especially getting some sleep! Keep up the great work, you are rockin’ it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

