As a New Year Approaches


December, for me, is a time to reflect back on the year. This time last year I was becoming depressed with how I ate and how I felt and looked. I was not active with my kids, friends, or family. I spent a lot of time sitting on the couch, eating and not happy with where my life was going. A friend of mine was talking about how she signed up for the YMCA with her family and how much she loved it. She encouraged me to join her. So I signed myself up, not being able to afford a family membership at that time. I was hooked from the very first class. I went everyday and loved how I felt. I started to slowly change my diet to help me regain some energy. I also found support from the BEST group of women (who are becoming my friends) through Mamavation.com.

This year I am a different person. I am happier, stronger, more fit (although I have more to go), and I am eating foods that are better for me. I have the knowledge on how to eat in moderation, to say “No” to certain foods, and how to handle stress of the Holidays by working out instead of binge eating or emotionally eating.

To get through this Holiday season I plan on continuing my cardio workouts 4 times a week at a minimum. I will be participating in Turbo Kick, Cycling, and Swimming. I will add strength training 3 times a week by incorporating in Body Pump, push ups, and light weight training at home.  Yoga is for my sanity and times of stress. I have always had a problem sleeping so I will be adding some relaxation time for yoga 30 minutes before bedtime. Some poses I will be performing is Relaxation Pose (Savasana), Legs Up the Wall, and Child’s Pose, focusing on deep breathing through each.

With my Family and Friends I will be focusing on living in the now. I am going to view the Holidays through my Children’s eyes. Take every chance to catch a snowflake on my tongue, build a snowman, go racing down a hill on a sled. Drive a different way home just to look at Christmas/Holiday light displays. Then come inside for a warm cup of hot chocolate and story time with my boys. I will also be donating my time to charity. Actually, my husband and I donated our families’ time to charity. We will be delivering Christmas Dinner to local families in need for a few hours on December 18th. I want this year to be the Best Holiday Season yet and a beginning to many Happy Holidays to come.

 

I wrote this blog post while participating in the Bookieboo and Earth Footwear “All’s Well That Ends Well” blogging program, making me eligible to win a pair of Earth Footwear boots. For more information on how you can participate, click here.

Leave a Reply

