See Me Run


I couldn’t be more proud of myself this week. I have never ran more than a mile in my life. In fact, I have not run a mile since I was in PE class in high school. On Wednesday I ran not one, not two, but 3 miles! I thought I was going to die at about mile 2 but I kept going and the next thing I knew I was at 3 miles! I was so excited I did my own little Rocky Balboa moves right there on the YMCA treadmill. I couldn’t help it and I didn’t care what people thought. I ran 3 miles!! So Thursday I stretched really well with my Body Flow class at the YMCA and boy did that feel good. My hips were so sore and we did some fantastic yoga hip openers I felt like a new woman walking out of there. I felt so good, that on Friday I ran 4.75 miles! What has gotten into me?! I am like a mad running machine. My husband was speechless, mainly because he has never seen me run, but I almost feel like I can take on the world! (OK maybe not). I’m am having so much fun and so thankful to many of my Mamavation Sistas who have been encouraging me to try running and putting myself out there.

What did I do this weekend? Not much except stretching. My right calf as been  screaming at me since Friday night. I have been wearing my Earth Cabo San Lucas 2 sandals non-stop around the house and when I go out I am finding comfort in my Earth Premier 2. Their 3.7 degree incline has helped my tired feet but also helps keep my posture inline even when I am feeling exhausted. In fact, I have decided that if I continue with my running and can knock out 5 miles 3 times a week I will reward myself with a new pair of Earth footwear. But which to choose? Do I go for a pair of boots like the  Initiate or Lodge 2, the Acclaim or Swank? Or do I hold out for the Heel I hear they are working on for Spring?? Decisions, decisions…

So goals…I have had a very specific goal for a very long time (5+ years) and that goal is to get rid of my muffin top. I hate it. The only time it is forgiving is when I am wearing my yoga pants. But lets face it, I cannot live in my yoga pants (although it would be nice since they are so comfy). I love challenging my core and working out my abs, but I still have that darn muffin. So what is a girl to do? Try and try again? I do planks, I do crunches, I do the pilates hundred (among others), I have done Ab Ripper X , stability ball exercises, I have done so many things I am losing count. So lets talk. What type of ab exercises do you do? Do you have a favorite DVD or routine? Let’s tackle this beast together!

 

 

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Fiumara
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 12:14:09

    Awesome week! I’ve never been a runner either, but I’ll get there. So proud of you!

    Reply

  2. Stephanie @fitmomtraining
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 12:52:00

    Holy Running! Way to go. It sounds like you might have just found your fitness soul mate! Be sure to do lots and lots of stretching. Running is so fantastic but it can wreck havoc on your body if you don’t stretch it out.

    I don’t think the muffin top can be cured by abs exercises. You probably have a fairly strong core from what you are doing. I think the key will be fat burning to uncover your 6-pack abs. Strength training and cardio will help with that.

    Oh Earth Footwear…how to choose?! I am hoping to get the Swanks for my birthday and then reward myself with the heels once I run my first half marathon in May.

    Good luck with your decision 😉

    Reply

  3. MrsFatass
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 18:00:33

    I love your Earth Footwear commercial! They should send you a pair for being so knowledgable and excited about them!

    Congrats on the run. That is so great. I wish my Y had Body Flow! My SIL is a Les Mills instructor, and when we get together on holidays we do body flow or body pump in her living room. I love them!

    And I have notoriously tight hips. Am forever working on those flexors.

    I don’t have muffin top advice, though. Wish I did. But keep running! That’s awesome!

    Reply

    • mkopp1
      Nov 08, 2010 @ 20:58:33

      I am so jealous! You have a Les Mills instructor in the family. I Love all their routines! Body Flow and Body Pump are my favorites. I am thinking it would be fun to be certified in this genre.

      Reply

  4. Laila @OnlyLaila
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 22:22:47

    You can definitely take on the world! That is amazing and inspiring. Congrats on adding running to your repertoire. 🙂 I too suffer from a slight muffin top, thank the women who created spanx,lol. I haven’t found a favorite workout DVD or routine yet. I’m gonna check out some from the library this week to see what works. Someone on twitter recommended watching the DVD prior to doing the workout, makes a lot of sense.

    Reply

  5. Carrie Symes
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 00:50:18

    Hey you weren’t the only sista that just discovered she can run last week!!! I didn’t do as good as you though I did 2 miles, but I feel like I am flying high. We are running!!! Yay, for us!!

    Reply

  6. Laura Kelly-Pifer
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 01:28:57

    WTG on running! Your doing an awesome job with all of your goals. I’m currently doing a mix of Turbo Jam and walking. Next month, I plan on starting Turbo Fire. I can’t wait!!

    Reply

  7. Kim @ One Fit Mama 2010
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 02:07:19

    Wow, I am impressed at your running. I am in the 5th week of the Couch to 5K. There was a time when I could run 3 miles, but that time is not now. I am hoping that Couch to 5K will get me back there. You have definitely motivated me to give it all today during my workout.

    Reply

  8. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 02:17:39

    Yay for running!!!!! I didn’t dive in quite that quickly, but I love it now. I can totally relate to the “conquer the world” feeling!! You go, girl!

    Reply

  9. Annette @daNanner
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 04:19:34

    WOW! I’m not a runner and don’t plan on it (give me ANY other cardio or strength training PLEASE), but CONGRATS! Are you signing up for any 5K’s?

    Re: muffin top … not even shape wear can tame mine, but I think it has more to do with the stress in my life. No matter how hard you work out, if you’re stressed it turns right to belly flab 😦

    Keep it up!

    Reply

  10. Megan @MNMSpecial
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 04:22:24

    Wish I could have seen the Rocky moves, lol. I wish we had a gym up here because you are really motivating me. Thanks for reminding me I can’t live in my Yoga pants…bummer. Good luck with the muffin reducing!

    Reply

  11. kia
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 07:31:42

    You animal! 3 then almost 5 miles??? Great job. Personally I love the Acclaim boots that I hope to reward myself with one day.

    Reply

  12. Carrie
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 11:40:33

    Awesome! 4.75 miles is amazing!! Thanks for the reminder to look for clothes other than my yoga pants… I tend to forget. Thanks for visiting my blog, too.

    Reply

  13. lorrie
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 05:19:48

    great job with the workouts this week your awesome so proud of you for running. maybe next time space out the running till you get used to it. like take a recovery day inbetween.

    i like doing my stationary bike while i watch tv have a great week

    Reply

Leave a Reply

