Mamavation Monday


This week I have decided to give my workouts a make-over. I feel like I am not getting to where I should be and I am not noticing as much change as I would like. So on top of all my normal routines (yoga, pilates, Body Pump, Cycle) I have decided to be vulnerable and try running. First confession, I AM NOT A RUNNER. In fact I have always hated it. But I am willing to give it a try. So I purchased one of those C25K (couch to 5K) programs for my iPhone to help me stay motivated and accountable. Not only do I have this 9 week program to follow but I have 2 long term goals I am going to reach as well. 1St long term goal is I will participate in my first Triathlon in August of 2011. The second event will be a Mud Run for the MS Society on Sept 10, 2011. Both races I will be participating with a friend to keep me motivated and as a support during the races. None of us have ever run in a race nor are we classified as runners. We are all starting our training now so we can be in decent shape by race time. We are doing these for fun but also to challenge ourselves to reach up and out of our comfort zones.

So how did I do this week :

Monday: For some reason, I cannot remember what I did this day….really need to keep a log of food and exercise.

Tuesday: I did some weight training at home with my free weights

Wednesday: I went to cycle class then later in the afternoon I started my running program with  1 minutes of running followed by 1 1/2 minutes of brisk walking and repeated that cycle 8 times. I did this outside with my boys riding their bikes.

Thursday: I did Body Flow Yoga followed by Pilates reformer personal training session. So sad that this was my final session of reformer for now. I will be saving to restart this again soon.

Friday: I did my second run with  1 minutes of running followed by 1 1/2 minutes of brisk walking and repeated that cycle 8 times. I felt like I couldn’t get enough air to my lungs this time. So I struggled more to get through it. I also was running inside on a track that I didn’t like. So I will stick to running outside until it gets too cold (darn MN weather) then I’ll find a better track to run on, or my treadmill. After my run and a stretch I headed to Body Pump.

Saturday: I took a rest day because I could barely walk. My legs were so stiff and sore from Friday’s workout they started calling me hop-a-long at work. I really wish I could have dunk tank full of icy hot.

Sunday: Ran my same run of  1 minutes of running followed by 1 1/2 minutes of brisk walking and repeated that cycle 8 times, completing my first week of the running program.

I lost 3 lbs this week. It has been awhile since my weight has dropped. I had gained some weight back in the past few weeks so I am glad to see a shift back in the right direction.

This week Subway is launching their Commit2Fit campaign with Jared as he sheds the pounds he has gain over the past few years. Make sure to check out @Ljenator and@Rachel_L blogs for some fabulous prizes to go along with the Commit2Fit Campaign. My commitment to getting fit is starting off with me running. If I can commit myself to stick with the 9 week program and get in shape for those two runs next summer, I know I will be more fit than I am today. So what are you gonna do?

A BIG congratulations to Shelley of @Momma_Oz for being the Sista of the Week!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle Brigance
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 01:21:41

    Congrats on your weight loss this week! I’m on a running journey also! Keep up the great work!

    Reply

  2. randomrebecca
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 01:26:22

    I am not a runner either, and I plan to run either a marathon or a half-marathon in May of next year. c25k is an awesome program, I hope you stick with it!

    Congrats on the weight loss and I’m looking forwad to seeing more of your progress with running!

    Reply

  3. @PamelaMKramer - A Renaissance Woman
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 06:23:02

    Can I get a whoot whoot? How freakin awesome are you? I love it when the ladies challenge themselves with an event. It gives you something to train for. Way to mix it up! Rock on sista!

    Reply

  4. lorrie
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 08:31:30

    congrats on your weight loss just do one goal at a time and don’t pressure yourself too much see how you do and then access from there

    Reply

  5. lorrie
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 08:33:37

    congrats on weight weight loss hope you have a great week focus on one goal at a time and see how that goes

    Reply

  6. gretablau
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 08:51:12

    Re: running, it’s not something natural for me either, but it’s something that i want to be able to do, like you. There are lots of people who aren’t runners who do charity events and triathlons. It’s all about challenging your mind and body. For me, running is very mental. I haven’t grasped it yet, but I will. Good luck with the C25K!

    Yay on the weight loss!!

    Reply

  7. Amanda @beeacutie2
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 10:01:34

    congrats on your weightlose and wtg on running!

    Reply

  8. Lori @My Kinda Rain
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:48:27

    That is a awesome weight loss girl! You are doing something right so keep it up!

    Reply

  9. Shelley
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 21:27:11

    I’m not a runner either but I just signed up for my first 5K so… I’d better get to it! I also have the C25K program on my phone! Good luck on that! My boys just did a mud run last Saturday – check out my blog ( http://mozzie76.wordpress.com ) to see the AWESOME time they had – You are gonna do great! I’m so glad you have a running buddy – support is sooooo important! Great job on the weight loss! You are AWESOME!

    Reply

  10. Steph (@fitmomintraining)
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 21:36:56

    Oh my goodness I want to do that Tri with you!! I think I just might be able to (As long as I’m not preggo again LOL!) That’s awesome. So, so, so awesome!!

    Reply

  11. Rachel
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 03:20:47

    Ok — I’ll be honest — the idea of a Mud Run sounds like FUN!

    I’m another one of those “not a runner” people who’s challenging herself to a 5K. . . . we can do this! We don’t have to be fastest — just have to finish. 😉

    CONGRATS on that 3 lb loss!

    Reply

  12. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 17:28:42

    LOVE your long term race goals!!! Especially the triathlon! Those goals will definitely help you stay focused on fitness.

    I recently finished a learn to run program similar to C25k, so if you need any support, just let me know!! I’m running my first 5k in 2 weeks – so excited! It’s been great having that goal out there in front of me.

    Reply

  13. kia
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 05:32:59

    Check you out with these two goals! First off the name of that Tri is adorably awesome. Second, mud runs also rock. Good luck with your training and hope that app helps get you motivated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

