Mamavation update


This week was better than last week. I made it to the gym and got my butt kicked with Body Pump and my Pilates personal trainer. I had very sore legs until just yesterday. My trainer brought out a little pilates chair she called the MVe. I am loving this pilates MVe. It worked my whole body with a few moves. It looks like a very simple chair, but I tell you, this harmless chair can whoop your butt and then some! I may have to purchase one for my at home gym. This chair has 4 resistant levels to challenge you as you get stronger but resistance isn’t everything. The lighter resistance is challenging in that your core has to work harder to do many of the moves and, in some aspects, keep you from falling on your face. This chair is a great option for those that enjoy the Pilates Reformer, but cannot afford to buy one for home use. I can’t wait for further instruction and knowledge of this equipment.

Today we spent our day outside at The MN State Fair. It is tradition in my family to attend this great event every year. If summer is going to end, it might as well end with a blast, great food, and lots of walking. I am talking, roughly, 320 acres of walking space. I am kicking myself for not taking my pedometer with me this year. I would have hit 15,000 steps easily. After 8.5 hrs of walking I think I may have burned most of the calories I took in today. Guess what I had on my feet?? Earth Footwear the Premier 2. Not once did I have to stop and rest due to my feet being “too sore”. Love me some Earth Footwear!

OK, enough of my babbling, so where am I at for weight loss?

I started my weight loss journey after my boys were born almost 5 years ago. I had put on 55 pounds carrying my twin boys. Not much to some, but I had put on 20 pounds prior to having my boys that I was struggling to lose. I lost 30 pounds with the birth of my twin boys and I fumbled with the the rest. After dealing with some depression issues and lack of any interest I found my spark in health and my love for fitness once again about a year and a half ago when I realized I was out of breath running with the boys at the park. My husband and I decided to try P90X to get us back in the groove. It worked, I lost 10 pounds by the end of the 6 weeks program. We still use a lot of their meal plans and make up our own as well. I started to go to the YMCA shortly after Christmas this year (2009). It was my gift to my family but also myself. I was hooked after just a few of their classes. I am 6 pounds away from my goal weight.Since joining Mamavation (trying to remember exactly when but can’t seem to figure that out) I am figuring I have lost 5 pounds.

My goals for this week are:

Water, water, water (because I did so good this week and got at least 64 ounces if not more a day)

Eat more veggies

Get to the Gym.

Shout out to Janice @fitcheerldr for being our Sista of the week! You are so inspirational and everyone who hasn’t already, needs to check out her blog! http://fitnesscheerleader.com/

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 18:14:57

    Sounds like you’ve really come a long way on your weight loss journey! Way to go. 🙂 That chair looks very interesting… I too share your love of the YMCA!

    Reply

  2. fitmomintraining
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 00:13:36

    That’s so great that you’ve come this far (check out the mamavation website and grab that 5lb badge!). Soon you’ll be on maintenance with me 🙂 I’m looking forward to getting back to the Y when their fall schedule kicks off.

    Reply

  3. Leah @bookieboo
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 05:09:27

    Good for you for losing all that weight before you came to us! And I’m so excited about your 5 lbs. that you have lost! XXOO

    Reply

  4. @PamelaMKramer - A Renaissance Woman
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 09:39:52

    That chair looks like fun! I normally stay away from Pilates but you have peaked my interest. Go you and I’m a huge supporter of the Y. I swear I’m there at least 5 days a week. Good luck this coming week, you’re doing great.

    Reply

  5. Joanna
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 20:37:04

    That chair looks so innocent it’s terrifying! 🙂 Sounds like you had fun at the fair. Good luck this week!

    Reply

  6. lorrie
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 21:09:38

    great job with all the steps and getting so close to your goal weight i have a long ways to go and i keep getting setbacks hope you get that much closer this week

    motivation treat

    Reply

  7. Ivette Muller
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 04:04:40

    WOW, great job! You are doing many things right so keep up the hard work. Have ag reat week! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

