Healthier Dinners-Week 1


So here is my new weekly post for Healthy Dinner ideas. I may not always come up with my own original dinner ideas and take from various cookbooks or websites, but be sure I will always add my own two cents, I can’t just can’t help myself. This is to help me keep track of foods my family is enjoying, but to also help readers find new ideas and inspirations for dinner.

So this week’s dinner is: Thyme-Rubbed Steaks

Ingriedents:

  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 4 -4oz steaks (I used Laura’s Lean Beef Boneless Striploin Steak)
  1. Heat grill to medium-high heat.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the paprika, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and thyme. Sprinkle onto each side of the steaks, pressing in so it adheres. Set aside.
  3. Grill steaks for 5 to 7 minutes per side, or to your desired degree of doneness. Remove to a plate and let rest for a few minutes.

Good with broccoli and lightly sauteed mushrooms.

Thyme Rubbed Steaks with Mushrooms and Broccoli

You could fry the steak like the original recipe* said to do, but that would add to the fat content and the grill made these steaks so juicy! My family loved this meal. Both of my boys are picky eaters but were easily gobbling it down after the first bite. Some would think the Paprika would make the steak a little spicy but if my kids ate it, it must not have been too spicy, they hate spice.

Well hopefully this gives you a way to spice up your steak without adding to much to your calorie counts. You won’t need any sauce to dip in.

Happy Cooking!

*Original Recipe can be found on www.allrecipes.com

My full recipe with mushrooms is found here.

Leave a Reply

