Mamavation Week 7-How Time Fly’s


Wow! It’s week 7 of the mamavation campaign!! Lisa and Jenny you are amazing women who inspire and make us laugh week after week. Your hard work these past weeks is amazing and you will continue to strive towards your goals as we move forward.

As for me, I didn’t have a good week. I have been  in vacation honeymoon mode and frankly, I didn’t have any energy left in me to do anything. But I learned  a lot from this week.  First and foremost, I am not going to beat myself up for not making any of my goals this week. Why? I’m human and I am not perfect. I may not have made it to the gym as many days as I wanted but I still managed to get there 3 times, and three is still better than none! Secondly, I am listening to my body this week and it was telling me “I need a break”. I was tired, really tired. It was a struggle to get out of bed for me everyday. I thought I was getting enough sleep, but it didn’t feel like enough. But I continued to listen and I am hoping I will have renewed energy this week.

That brings me to my third realization, I need better equipment at home. By equipment I am talking about what I have in my house to change my workout a little. I have been doing very similar workout routines for the past 9 months. I am proud that I have stuck to working out as much as I do for 9 months, the longest I have been able to do since I was in high school. But it is time for a little change, time to mix it up again. Since my boys broke my Wii many months back, see a previous post about popsicle sticks, I talked hubby into buying a new one at Target today (not so hard since they are on sale this week). So it is time to open a few Wii games I was able to get for Christmas and never was able to use. Very excited and may have to start my day out with a workout later this morning. Some more equipment I realized I need to change up is, my shoes. My gym shoes are junk. They are not comfortable, they have no support and quit frankly they are worthless. My goal is to go find an Earth Footwear dealer this week and try a bunch on. I have heard so many positive comments from other Mamavation moms these shoes and I have decided, it is time I go try some on for size! Looking online at the site earlier today, I am very excited to look for gym shoes, casual everyday shoes and my favorite boots!!! Hmmm, I think I need to go sooner than later before hubby reads this post. Did I mention shoes are a weakness of mine?? The cool thing about Earth Footwear is that it elevates the toes and corrects your posture. They are suppose to be very comfortable and earth friendly. Sounds like you can’t go wrong.

Ok so moving moving on to this week, Goals:

-Water, water, water. I will get in my water.

-Get in 4 workouts at a minimum and mix up my routine.

-Make 4 healthy dinners this week and work on the healthy lunches.

I want to invite those not familiar with Mingle media TV to join us Mamavation mom’s Monday at 9pm Central time. This week Liz Neporent  joining us. She is a contributor to one of my favorite magazines, Fitness, as well as Glamour, Shape, Family Circle, Men’s Health, and Cooking Light. I am excited to hear what she has to teach us.

I also want t o give a shout out to Shawnee Halligan @ShawneeH for being the Sista of the Week! Way to go girlie!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shawnee
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 13:02:39

    I hope that you’re feeling well rested now. Breaks are a good thing, now and then. Congrats for realizing the need for a few new exercise tools – good tools make all the difference. I SO WANT some Earth Footwear; can’t wait to see how you like yours!

    Here’s to a terrific new start this week!

    PS – Thanks for the support

    Reply

  2. Scarlett Black @MMScarlett
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 18:49:13

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE my earth footwear – I highly recommend them to everyone for a good every day shoe!

    Have a great week and keep focusing on your goals!

    Reply

  3. Lori @My Kinda Rain
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 19:16:31

    Take a deep breath and move forward this week. Forget about your honeymoon phase and get back on that horse! You can do this!

    Reply

  4. Danielle Brigance
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 20:41:51

    I understand your feelings of being exhausted! I hope you caught back up on rest! I also agree with not being hard on yourself. Everyone is going to have a down day or week. The thing is that you realize it and know what you have to do to change it! GL this week!

    Reply

  5. Ivette Muller
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 21:48:27

    Great job for identifying what’s NOT working for you – now you can really move forward this week. 🙂

    Good luck!

    Reply

  6. Roxy
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 22:25:45

    Don’t blame ya at all for still being in honeymoon mode. Looked like you were having a fabulous time. You will totally fall in love with Earth Footwear. They are commmmmmfy! I have a shoe weakness, too and if I could afford to, I would go to their website and order every single shoe they had in my size. On that note, I was really pleased to find that their shoes accommodated wide feet like mine. I wear 11w and their 11’s fit me perfectly.

    I’m sorry to read that your kiddos broke your Wii, but glad you got one to replace it. EAS ROCKS! By far the best game/workout out there.

    Good luck this week!!

    Reply

  7. Laura @SeeLauraRun
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 23:23:03

    Glad you aren’t beating yourself up! Get right back on the wagon this week! Your goals look great! Sending good thoughts your way that you’ll stick to them this week!

    Stay positive hun!
    Laura @SeeLauraRun

    Reply

  8. Joanna
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 02:39:29

    Way to go getting to the gym 3 times last week! That is definitely a positive! Listing to your body is so important, and so is realizing that we’re not perfect, what a great post! I hope you get a lot of enjoyment out of the new Wii and have a great week!

    Reply

  9. Rachel
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 03:04:43

    Hi there. I too have heard wonderful things about Earth Footwear… but have not tried them *YET*

    Hopeing you have a great relaxing week!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. kia
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 04:46:29

    It is good to evaluate where you are in your goals. Before vacation did you even realize you needed more rest and to change up your workouts? Probably not. Now that you have that info I think it is cool you can focus on goals and go forward. Have a great week.

    Reply

  11. fitmomintraining
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 06:22:59

    OOOOOOOO I hope you find your Earth Footware. I hear such amazing things about them. Next time I’m in the States, I will be looking for a retailer to find a pair to slip onto my feet!

    Reply

  12. Kimberly @christlikemommy
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 07:02:22

    You have got some great goals! Stay positive, you know what to do and what you need to do, so good job for moving on and getting it done! 🙂

    Reply

  13. amanda
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 08:02:20

    I had a week where I just couldn’t get out of bed for anything last week. It was HARD. Kudos to you for listening to your body and resting. Sounds like you needed it!

    Reply

  14. Greta
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 08:07:12

    Hey lots of people don’t go to the gym at all. I say 3X is great! I’m also intrigued by the Earth Footwear! Maybe I’ll win tonight! : )

    So even if you think you didn’t have a good week, it’s good you came to all of these conclusions. It’s all a learning process.

    Reply

  15. @PamelaMKramer - A Renaissance Woman
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:36:06

    Hang in there! That’s why this group is so awesome. We all get it and we are all here for support. Good luck this week. We will all be back to see how you are doing!

    Reply

  16. angelretreat
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 02:03:12

    have fun with your new wii hope you get alot of use out of it, have a great week

    that pic in my post was of my new shoes not my old ones the old ones are still up in my room if you want i can take a pic of the old ones for you to see

    Reply

  17. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 06:21:20

    Yes, we have to learn not to beat ourselves up when we don’t meet goals. Just re-evaluate and move forward. Good for you. Shoes make a huge difference in workouts. I hope you’re able to get a good pair soon. The wrong shoes can lead to injury – you don’t want that!

    Here’s to a great week!

    Reply

  18. Leah @bookieboo
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 07:07:32

    I know that feeling. I’ve felt like that all summer. I think the heat really get to me and I get dehydrated and just awful. Hang in there! XXOO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

