Mamavation Monday


It is hard to believe that I am back in the US after a week in Mexico. It was pure Paradise. I thought I would never make it without my phone, twitter, and email…but I didn’t miss it one bit. Now it is back to reality and my goals for a Healthy Lifestyle and Family. I have to admit, it was not easy eating how I should while on vacation, especially since we had an all-inclusive resort. Hubby and I did manage to eat breakfast, most days. I had scrabbled eggs with fresh salsa most mornings. But my weakness at breakfast were the pain au chocolates (little croissant rolls filled with chocolate). SO bad yet soooo good. My other weakness, Margaritas. But I did manage to limit my intake to only 2 alcoholic beverages a day. My favorite drinks included a strawberry, lime, mint smoothie at the fitness center of our resort and the grapefruit, lime smoothie at 100% Natural the restaurant in Playa del Carmen. Both were freshly squeezed and so refreshing on those hot muggy days.

Grapefruit, Lime Smoothie

100% Natural Smoothie

Our resort was beautiful and had everything from 7 inter connecting pools, a fitness center, Jet ski rentals, several restaurants, Beach front (although it was very rocky since the hurricane in 2005).ย  Hubby and I didn’t manage use the fitness center, except to grab a healthy lunch to go, because we had so many activities jammed into our trip. We went on a hour and fifteen minute jet ski tour of the coast of the Riviera Maya to a private beach that had a beautiful white sandy bottom. We snorkeled in several Cenotes, with Sea Turtles. We zip lined our way over a clear Lagoon and through the jungle. We canoed, swam in the pool, took a jungle Buggy Tour, cliff dived, walked many miles on the beach and around the Playa del Carmen area. Whew! We did manage some relaxation time in there as well. On Tuesday we had a 1 hour couples massage at Veronica’s Gold in Playa del Carmen. On Friday we ha the experience of a life time getting a therapeuticย  jungle massage from native Mayan women who were born to heal with their massages. After the hour and a half massage they smothered us with aloe right from the plant and covered our bodies in banana leaves. I have had many massages in the past but nothing like what these woman can do. I will be returning to this community in the jungle when I find myself in Mexico!

So my goals for this week:

Drink my water

Eat several types a vegetables with each meal

Get to the gym at least 4 times this week if not more (I have 2 pounds of vacation weight to take off)

Eat breakfast and not think about my beloved pain au chocolates ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here’s a big shout out to Kimberly @christlikemommy for being our Sista of the week! She is always there when a Sista is in need for someone to talk to! Congrats girlfriend!!

Here are a few more pics of my wonderful vacation for your enjoyment!

Me ziplining across the Lagoon

See the big stick…that is my ABS breaking system!

Cliff diving

Brian and I at Tulum ruins

Me and the sea turtle

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph (@stephhamm154)
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 00:15:40

    Your vacation sounds like it was Heaven on earth! Glad you had a nice time away. Hope your transition back to reality is painless ๐Ÿ™‚ Take a moment to mourn the chocolate criossants…I would LOL.

    Reply

  2. Lori @My Kinda Rain
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 00:16:25

    Great pics!!!

    Reply

  3. Carrie
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 01:35:21

    I love the pics!! That turtle is awesome!

    Reply

  4. Krista
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 01:54:15

    Now that sounds like my kind of vacation!! Looks like you had a fantastic time. Welcome home!

    Reply

  5. Leah @bookieboo
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 04:04:57

    I’m so jealous of your vacay! It looked fabulous! And you were ziplining upside down? OMG…I would have thrown up…lol XXOO

    Reply

  6. Scarlett Black @MMScarlett
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 04:36:12

    I am dying to go on vacation in Mexico! I can’t wait until we have time to do so!

    Have a great week

    Reply

  7. Resa Barillas
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 06:24:12

    How fun! Glad you got to enjoy yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  8. kia
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 07:15:23

    What a fun vacay! Thanks for sharing pictures. Pain au chocolate in Mexico, LOL! It is funny how resorts cater to your every need.

    Reply

  9. lorrie
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 11:55:55

    sounds like you had a great vacation loved the sea turtle, good luck with your goals this week

    Reply

  10. Ivette Muller
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:11:28

    Welcome back from vacation – it looked amazing! Glad you enjoyed yourself while still trying to be “good”! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  11. Angela
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 18:05:18

    Your vacation sounds incredible!! And also pat yourself on the back for being so active on vacation. At least you didn’t eat those yummy croissants and then lounge in the pool all day. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  12. Roxy
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 06:16:34

    Those pics are amazing! I turned down a chance to go to Mexico years ago and I so regret that. I have an incredible weakness for margaritas as well. lol. At least you gave yourself limits while still allowing yourself to enjoy what you love. That’s great!

    Reply

  13. Heather @ Frugal Southern Living
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 08:27:27

    Wow, I am SO jealous ๐Ÿ™‚ Your vacay sounds awesome!! I love the sound of the Strawberry, Lime, Mint smoothie => googling a recipe now ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to hearing about your progress next week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

