Mamavation week 4 Post


Last week was a whirl wind. In fact I was barely able to get online last week. I also wasn’t able to post and I had great news to share! So I am going to share now.

I am an Emergency Room Nurse and Charge Nurse. My weekend to work is known as “the fat weekend”. I know, that sounds mean. But in reality my co-workers are referring to the fact that there is always junk food laying around to munch on. I didn’t like this stereotype of my weekend and it wasn’t helping any of us stay healthy while taking care of our patients. So I set up our first ever healthy eating potluck. I made a huge spinach salad topped with fresh cut strawberries and blueberry and slivered almonds. I made a balsamic dressing from scratch. I had other co-workers bring in lean deli meat, whole wheat buns, veggies for sandwich garnish, fresh fruit plate, veggie tray, and homemade soups. Someone still brought in some not so healthy brownies for dessert. But the potluck was a hit and everyone LOVED how fresh and healthy everything was. In fact, the brownies barely were touched! I am hoping this continues and my co-workers will be inspired to take care of themselves at work and at home.

Now that I shared my missing post from last week, let’s move on to this week. I have been very busy trying to clean and stain my deck. I would go and workout in the morning and come home to prep the deck (20ftx14ft). Not easy to do by myself. But I managed to power wash the entire deck by myself while hubby was at class. Not to mention how much of a workout my arms, legs, and back got! Whew! Now after a week. It is done and I can put it behind me before leaving on vacation this coming Sunday (August 8th).

I have been doing great on my water intake this week. I have also had veggies with lunch and dinner every night. I am not proud of the fact that I skipped breakfast (gasp!) many times this week. But I learned that my workouts suffer when I do that. So no more breakfast skipping! The other thing I realized I am missing is a heart rate monitor. I am tired of taking my heart rate the old fashion way. Many of my fellow Mamavation Sistas are also using the Gruve. How nice would it be to have a device that tracks your activity intensity and duration for you and gives an accurate caloric burn. I don’t know about you but I would have liked to have known how many calories I burned working on my deck last week and over the weekend. Check out the Gruve website or follow @Gruvesolution on twitter to learn more.  Did you know that Gruve is based in my hometown of Minneapolis, MN!!! Go Gruve! Now to get my hands on one!

Since I will be gone all next week to hot and sunny Mexico (for my 7year belated honeymoon), my goals for the rest of this week and next week are:
Eat breakfast everyday
Make healthy choices while on vacation
Get in some workouts while on vacation

Thank you to many of the Sistas I have had the pleasure to chat with online and those who have inspired me by their blogs. Your kind words and encouragement and strength have given so many of us the drive to keep going and reach for our goals. {{HUGS}} to all of you!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scarlett Black
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 00:32:14

    Great idea on the Healthy Eating potluck! So many times when those are held, it ends up being ALL desserts!

    Nurses need premium fuel (aka good healthy food) so that they can have the stamina to make it through the shift and be able to think with a clear head!

    Have a great week and keep up with the awesome ideas!

    Reply

  2. Carrie Symes
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 00:39:10

    My mom is a nurse and I was also. It’s amazing all the crap that people give nurses. Christmas is the worst! I worked in a Transitional Care Unit(Similar to a Nusing Home, but only alowed to stay for a certain # of days), Christmas was the worst. Families would bring in all sorts of cookies and just plain junk! We got and occanial fruit basket but for the most part it was all junk. That is awesome that you guys are doing this keep it up!!

    Reply

  3. Leah @bookieboo
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 01:15:58

    Have a great time in Mexico for your honeymoon! Make sure to check the travel bureau to find out what spots are safe, etc. I’m kinda scared to go down there right now with all the violence with the drug traffickers. But I’m also paranoid about that kinda stuff. My husband and I went there for our honeymoon and it was fantastic. XXOO

    Reply

  4. Lori @ My Kinda Rain
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 02:28:42

    Have a fantastic Honeymoon! See you when you get back!

    Reply

  5. Rachel @RachelSteffen
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 02:58:15

    OOOH Have a fantastic 7yr honeymoon!! I would love to revisit my honeymoon destination with ONLY my husband (no kiddos). Ah bliss! 😛 Have a great week!!

    Reply

  6. Lisa @ljenator
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 06:18:05

    How freakin cool is that!! I’m so glad that you’ve started something at work! I bet you all felt great after eating the healthy foods. I’m so proud of you.

    EAT YOUR BREAKFAST!! hehe 🙂

    Great job mama!!

    Reply

  7. Resa Barillas
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 07:33:44

    Congratulations! Sharing the health at work is amazing, and you’re SO lucky your colleagues were open to it!

    Cheers!

    Reply

  8. Amanda @beeacutie2
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 07:48:33

    I love your potluck! My hubby says the say thing about work on the weekedns it is so easy to just eat junk, but look at you making others eat right and they seemed happy to fdo it! Have a great honeymoon!

    Reply

  9. Angela
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 08:06:25

    A healthy pot luck is such a great idea! I wonder if I have enough time to get one together for work on Thursday. We have inventory from 9pm to 2am and it usually a junk food fest.

    Have fun on your vacation. Some great ways to exercise on vacation are walking everywhere, walking/jogging along the beach, and swimming!

    Reply

  10. daniellebrigance
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 09:43:42

    Sounds like you’ve been a busy lady! The salad sounds awesome. Great job with the water and exercise!
    Have fun on your vacation!

    Reply

  11. Laura @ SeeLauraRun
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 21:56:35

    Hey! Just stopped by from Mamavation to read your post!

    I love that you took healthy food into work! I am an avid couponer and once got 40 packages of cookies for less than $10 to bring to work… after my best girlfriend complained that she had gained 3lbs from all the cookies I decided that I would defiantely not be doing that ever again! So instead I scored a great deal on oatmeal and brought that to work instead… people loved it just as much or more – plus I was getting people to eat breakfast, which is a big problem for a lot of people!

    Good luck staying healthy on your belated-honeymoon! You must be SO EXCITED!!!

    Have fun! Can’t wait for your next update!

    Laura @SeeLauraRun

    Reply

Leave a Reply

