Hello friends


Welcome back friends, it has been awhile. Life sure gets busy when kids start school. Here I thought once the boys started I would have time to get things done. Looks like the opposite happens. Work has been crazy busy and I have been working full-time, very unlike me. A lot of things have taken a backseat and I have to learn how to prioritize all over again. I am signed up as PTA secretary and I never imagined how much work goes into that. Right now is a busy time for PTA and I am looking forward to my upcoming vacation with the family.

To catch you up on my fitness, I was trying to keep up with the #2weekchallenge on Mamavation.com but I got a few days behind and decided to just step back and supplement my workout with the ab crusher advance workout by @Gruntstyle. Can I tell you how much I LOVE this workout! I feel great after doing it and I have felt results after just a week. This week I decided to get back into running. My motivation…hubby and his friend running the Twin Cities 10 mile. You have never seen two guys make a 10mile run look so easy and fun! They made it look like a walk in the park. Made me decide to aspire for a lofty goal next year. Can you say 10 mile?

My good news for the week comes from my work out friend that I have had for the past year and a half or more. When she and I started going to the gym together she swore I would never get her to be a runner. We have tried so many classes together, from Body Pump, Step class, Turbo Kick, Cycle, Rowing, Body Flow, but even as I trained for my 5Ks and mud run she kept telling me she would never run. Well this week, I got her to do some running intervals around the indoor track with me. Not once but 2 different days! I asked her to try walking 2 laps and running a lap (or a lap in a half). If she didn’t like it or felt crummy I promised we would stop. She was a sport and gave it a go on Wednesday. She did great completing 6 laps of running, 12 laps of walking for a total of just shy of 2 miles. On Thursday we met at the gym and she only had a half hour to work out so I suggested we run a little more again, since she did so well the day before and was feeling so good. She agreed and managed to give me at least one double lap getting her 7 running laps, 14 walking laps in less time than the day before. She was so proud of herself and I was so proud of her for trying something new, that she swore she would NEVER do. I think I may have passed on the fever of running to yet another person.

Well this week is another crazy work week for me. I am hoping to plan out a ab challenge in November as part of the #corewarrior series. I am hoping for some time here in the very near future to start working out the details.

I wish you all a great and healthy week!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 08:33:49

    I hope you’re able to find some time to RELAX and get things back into an order that works for you.
    I’m glad, despite not doing the 2weekchallenge, you’re still finding something that works for you- so glad to hear you were able to encourage a friend to do something you love so much!!

    Reply

  2. TishaMarie
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 08:53:43

    Awesome job motivating your friend. Maybe you can return the favor and let her suggest something that is out of your comfort zone. What a gift to have a consistent workout partner!!! Keep it up girl!!

    Reply

  3. Flip Flopped Momma
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 09:45:36

    I LOVE that particular @GruntStyle workout as well!! Hope things slow down for you just a little bit so you can get some time to just breathe & relax! I am proud of you for still working out even when you fell behind with the 2 week challenge. It happens to the best of us! We are all human & life happens! Have a great week! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    Reply

  4. Lena - elenka29
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 10:03:20

    WOW! Awesome job on inspiring a friend – that’s huge. Have another active and great week

    Reply

  5. ~MNMSpecial~ (@mnmspecial)
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 10:28:05

    I hope you can achieve that goal of running the 10. That would be awesome! Being a parent seems to make time race. You are super brave doing PTA secretary, wow! hats off to you! Hope your vacation gives you time to relax..really relax not just semi relax.

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 11:33:12

    running is a great gift to pass on :)

    Reply

  7. Lo
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 23:22:52

    Goodness! You had a lot going on! Way to go for inspiring a friend to run and I hope you have a fabulous time on your vacation!

    Reply

  8. Andrea Emilien (@AndreaEmilien)
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 19:21:29

    You ARE going to achieve your goal of running 10 miles (and HOLY COW!!!). Congrats on motivating your friend to push it at the gym. And have a great vacation!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 765 other followers

