Monday Check Point


Hello blogosphere! I hope today finds you all healthy and well! I have been working hard on my fitness goals and trucking along. I made it to the gym 6 out of 7 days last week. I am trying to hard to train my lungs to breathe when I run. I know sounds funny to say, but I have realized during my past two 5Ks I am not breathing like I should. I take very shallow breaths when I run and this causes me to run into all sorts of problems on the course. As my boys would say, “duh”. So I have been retraining my self on how to breathe. Sounds simple right? Umm, not so much. I have been talking with my friend @RunningRachel over at http://www.runningrachel.com/ and she has been giving me a few pointers about breathing. For starters, when breathing IN-sticking belly out. When breathing OUT-suck belly in. May sound obvious to many of you, but I breathe the opposite way, normally. So yeah, I have to re-train my brain. But it has worked so far. I have also been doing interval training with my running to help me run further distances with this breathing pattern. So this week, I would speed walk for 4 minutes than run for 1 minute and repeat this 5 times. Each run was over 2.2 miles. This week I plan on walking for 3 minutes running for 2 minutes and seeing how I feel. My next big goal to tackle is to run a 5k under 30 miutes.

Food choice this week have been good. Hubby and I have made various salads and wraps made with Flatout Bread. We have been trying to get more veggies in with each meal and eating out of our garden. I need to get back to adding in more fish into our meal plans. When eating out we have been picking lighter meals. The scale has still been my friend. I am still only 3 lbs away from my weight loss goal. I maintained this week, which I am ok with and I figure I would do since I didn’t step it up like I should have.

This week we leave for vacation. We are headed to Madison, Wisconsin for a wedding on Thursday (8/4). The wedding is on Friday, with a family get together all day Saturday. Planning on running while there to get the workouts in. We come home on Sunday. Monday (8/8) we leave for Duluth, MN (2 hours North) on the shores of Lake Superior for a week vacation as a family. There we will be hiking, biking, and relaxing, but also getting some trail running in. It will be our last vacation before the boys start Kindergarten in September, and I go into empty nest withdrawal.

Have a great week and as always, thanks for stopping by!

 

 

This post is sponsored by Flatout Bread and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway hosted by Mamavation .

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom)
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 06:28:47

    Sometimes seemingly “simple” things need our attention to get right…. really doing things well is never simple. Finding something to improve your running is fabulous! I hope you have many great runs in your future… now improved!

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 12:02:21

    Don’t feel silly; until I started doing pilates and yoga videos I was always breathing wrong. Funny because when I used to sing I breathed right, open up my chest and fill the cavity. I applaud you for going out and running.

    Reply

  3. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 06:57:47

    So glad that Rachel has been able to give you some pointers with your running and breathing! Isn’t she awesome? Keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll reach that goal for your 5k!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 783 other followers

